Visa Considerations

Except than some limited countries, getting visa is possible at the airport.

Except than some limited countries, getting visa is possible at the airport.

Visitors to Iran must obtain a visa from one of the Iranian diplomatic missions unless they come from one of the visa exempt countries or countries eligible for a visa on arrival. All visitors must hold a passport valid for at least 6 months. Citizens of Israel are totally banned from entry to Iran.

Citizens of the following 8 countries can visit Iran without a visa:

  • Armenia 90 days within 180 days

  • Azerbaijan 30 days

  • Bolivia 30 days

  • Georgia 45 days

  • Malaysia 15 days

  • Syria 90 days

  • Turkey 3 months

  • Venezuela 15 days


Holders of normal passports traveling as tourists can obtain a visa on arrival for a maximum stay of 30 days (extendible for another 15 days), at the following airports, as by April 2017:

British, Canadian and American citizens are required to be escorted by a government approved guide at all times. Independent travel for these citizens has been banned due to the closure of Iranian foreign missions in these countries.

Admission is refused to holders of passports or travel documents containing an Israeli visa or stamp or any data showing that visitor has been to Israel or indication of any connection with the state of Israel during the last 12 months.

  • The visa on arrival is issued free of charge for citizens of Lebanon.
  • All tourists, except citizens of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia , India , Iraq , Jordan, Pakistan, Somalia, the UK and the US, may stay in Kish Island and Qeshm Island for 14 days or less without obtaining any visa.

for more information visit Evisa Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs WEB SITE.

Airport Culture Ecotourism Ecotourism Iran Iran Touring Tourism Tourism Transportation Travel trip Visa